Sweet Dreams

Mmmm, cinnamon-butter hushpuppies

Mmmm, cinnamon-butter hushpuppies

Looking for something other than fried and stewed bananas for lunch I walked into Inzozi Nziza.  I’m invited to the proprietor’s place for Thanksgiving, and if their pineapple ice-cream is any foretaste of what’s to come it’s going to be a good time.

Secure for posterity

Secure for posterity

Sample

Sample

Inzozi success

Inzozi success

Their story is a touching one.  Out of the ashes of genocide they bring ice cream and hope to Africa:  the Al Jazeera piece on them.  On the way there I got a little shot of home, a passing girl wearing the Myrtle Beach Crabshack t-shirt.  Home of the best cinnamon-butter drenched hushpuppies ever made because, “If they ain’t kick’n they ain’t cook’n.”  The quote doesn’t fit, but I like it.  Enjoy the videos–these girls can play.

Drum Corps 1 Drum Corps 2

About maprwanda

Imaging Scientist and Rochester Institute of Technology Postdoc, working at the National University of Rwanda. For more information about me and my work, check out http://www.cis.rit.edu/~ajs5539
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment